Technical Committee on Noise

Technical Committee on Noise

TC Noise (NS): To increase and diffuse knowledge of noise generation and propagation, passive and active noise control, perception and the effects of noise, and the management of exposure to noise. Activities of the Committee embrace the practical and theoretical aspects of noise in all areas of acoustics.

Specific topics of interest include:

  • Measurement, prediction, and modeling of noise and vibration
  • Soundscapes, urban and natural
  • Product sound quality
  • Classroom acoustics
  • Quiet system design
  • Occupational and recreational exposure to noise
  • Speech privacy
  • Legal aspects of noise
  • Codes and standards.

James E. Phillips, FASA, Chair to 2021

Term to 2020

Ann E. Bowles
Paul R. Donavan
Cameron Fackler
Hilary L. Gallagher
Noel W. Hart
Kirill V. Horoshenkov
Derrick P. Knight
Jerry G. Lilly
Stephen J. Lind
David Lubman
George A. Luz
Tracianne B. Neilsen
Matthew L. Nickerson
Robert A. Putnam
Jack E. Randorff
Roth I. Stephen
Paul D. Schomer
Gregory C. Tocci
Alan T. Wall
Lily M. Wang

Term to 2021

Jay M. Bliefnick
Robert M. Brenneman
Bennett M. Brooks
Jessica S. Clements
Benjamin Copenhaver
Brandon Cudequest
Patricia Davies
Jesse J. Ehnert
Sanford Fidell
Robert D. Hellweg
Lixi Huang
Kenneth H. Kaliski
Joonhee Lee
Yi Liu
Alexandra Loubeau
David J. Manley
William J. Murphy
Richard J. Peppin
Rachel A. Romond
Kenneth P. Roy
Erica E. Ryherd
Bonnie Schnitta
Brigitte Schulte Fortkamp
Scott D. Sommerfeldt
Victor Ward Sparrow
Kerrie G. Standlee
Michael R. Stinson
Nancy S. Timmerman
Zachary Weiss

Term to 2022

Keith Attenborough
Matthew Blevins
Dick B. Botteldooren
Giovanni Brambilla
Alexander U. Case
Andy W. L. Chung
Kenneth A. Cunefare
Fernando J. Elizondo
Andre Fiebig
Ronald R. Freiheit
Kent L. Gee
Klaus Genuit
Kenneth W. Good
James S. Holtrop
K. Anthony Hoover
Matthew J. Kamrath
Siu-Kit Lau
George C. Maling
Ashley Masoner
Richard L. McKinley
Leisa E. Nalls
Steven D. Pettyjohn
Eric L. Reuter
S. Hales Swift
Michelle C. Vigeant
Douglas F. Winker
David S. Woolworth
Ning Xiang
Buye Xu

Ex officio:

Brigitte Shulte-Fortkamp, member of Medals and Awards Committee

Alexander U. Case, member of Membership Committee

Richard J. Peppin, member of ASACOS

Aaron Vaughn, member of Student Council